New Jersey

Standard Minimum Wage
$15.13 / hour

The minimum wage is the entry-level hourly wage paid to employees by their employer.

Tipped Minimum Wage
$5.26 / hour

The tipped wage is the base wage for employees who earn tips (such as servers and bartenders). Tipped employees are guaranteed to earn the minimum wage when tips are included.

Local Exceptions

Minimum Wage Tipped Wage
  Employers of 6+ $15.13 $5.26
  Employers of 5 or less $13.73 $5.26
  Long term care employees $18.13 $

Related Blog Posts

May 21, 2018

Fight for $15 in New Jersey is a Fight Against Teen Employment

New Jersey Democratic Gov. Phil Murphy has his sights set on gradually raising the state’s minimum wage from $8.60 to $15 an hour.  But many small business…
August 24, 2016

How a $15 Minimum Wage Will Change New Jersey

New Jersey Governor Chris Christie is currently deciding whether or not to sign a $15 minimum wage into law, and the Employment Policies Institute today released a new commercial that should help…

External Links

New Jersey's Minimum Wage

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development